Yes, the weather is gorgeous but riding a TT in the still constant heat of eight o’clock in the evening plus contending with a breeze in either direction for a distance of 15 miles is draining and energy-sapping and the once-again large sign-on of brave souls found it tough. The course was from Moneygall to Roscrea (first roundabout) and return – a distance of 15 miles (24k).
The hardest positon to start a TT is first as there is no “hare” to chase and even harder when it is your first ever TT so the ride of the night belongs to 16 year old Ross O’Meara who hung on to that first off positon and finished the course without being caught – a great achievement. In the flat times, John Foote rode a brilliant race and took the fastest

Benny Delaney powering home to the Club Championship TT title.
Benny Delaney powering home to the Club Championship TT title.

time for the night with 35.51 ahead of Pat Bergin and Liam Callaghan. Several riders rode well within their handicap times therefore “side-lining” the fast men. The ever improving Selina Hynes claimed third place while Charlie Hogan took second and with his debut as a club champion, Brendan Delaney took the honours. Very well done to all who rode on the night and many thanks as always to Mike Sheedy, our motor bike marshal who keeps them safe and to Vic Nott for his gallery of photos.